HTFC Forums

H.T.F.C.

How To Fix Computers





Go Back   HTFC Forums > Software Newsgroups > Windows XP > Windows XP Basics

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1  
Old 11-16-2007, 11:12 PM
wassup.doc
 
Posts: n/a
Default Forger ! ! !

Most of my requests for have been simple. I will admit that - MVP's will
agree, I feel sure. When I came back to this discussion group, I find someone
has forged my name an address "wassup.doc@hushmail.com" putting in as their
message the single word "Help". (See by searching for wassup.doc under this
newsgroup 10/26/2007.) Is there any way to report or better still, stop
this? MTiA, David.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-2007, 11:31 PM
Shenan Stanley
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Forger ! ! !

wassup.doc wrote:
> Most of my requests for have been simple. I will admit that - MVP's
> will agree, I feel sure. When I came back to this discussion group,
> I find someone has forged my name an address
> "wassup.doc@hushmail.com" putting in as their message the single
> word "Help". (See by searching for wassup.doc under this newsgroup
> 10/26/2007.) Is there any way to report or better still, stop
> this? MTiA, David.


Unfortunately for you - you do not 'own' the 'wassup.doc' moniker in a
public newsgroup in particular.
I assume you are saying that the email is yours as well? That you may be
able to take issue with.

It looks like the wassup.doc@hushmail.com poster uses this newsreader: News
Rover 12.3.0 (http://www.NewsRover.com)
It looks like the wassup.doc@hushmail.com poster uses this news server:
ThunderNews.com

It looks like the wassup.doc poster (you?) uses the web interface at
Microsoft.
It looks like the wassup.doc poster (you?) posts from 10.40.244.x (likely
some wireless assigned (or wired) DHCP private LAN.)

Now maybe some of those are you, some aren't - I dunno. There's not much
you can do - nor do i see anything to get ruffled about.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2007, 04:09 AM
legg
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Forger ! ! !

On Fri, 16 Nov 2007 15:12:00 -0800, wassup.doc
<wassupdoc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>Most of my requests for have been simple. I will admit that - MVP's will
>agree, I feel sure. When I came back to this discussion group, I find someone
>has forged my name an address "wassup.doc@hushmail.com" putting in as their
>message the single word "Help". (See by searching for wassup.doc under this
>newsgroup 10/26/2007.) Is there any way to report or better still, stop
>this? MTiA, David.


Don't use a bot-readable or functional e-mail address in your posting
ID. (ie 'from'). This is readable every time you post. Any altered
form that an intelligence reader can comprehend is good enough.
wassup.doc@husremovethishmail.com
wassup.doc(at)hushmail.com

E-mail addresses on newsgroups are regularly harvested by spammers and
others. Don't post it anywhere else in clear text, either.

RL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:36 PM
wassup.doc
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Forger ! ! !

My utmost gratitude, Legg. You pointed out something (ha, ha there is a lot)
I did not know. Your advice will be taken in future. David

"legg" wrote:

> On Fri, 16 Nov 2007 15:12:00 -0800, wassup.doc
> <wassupdoc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >Most of my requests for have been simple. I will admit that - MVP's will
> >agree, I feel sure. When I came back to this discussion group, I find someone
> >has forged my name an address "wassup.doc@hushmail.com" putting in as their
> >message the single word "Help". (See by searching for wassup.doc under this
> >newsgroup 10/26/2007.) Is there any way to report or better still, stop
> >this? MTiA, David.

>
> Don't use a bot-readable or functional e-mail address in your posting
> ID. (ie 'from'). This is readable every time you post. Any altered
> form that an intelligence reader can comprehend is good enough.
> wassup.doc@husremovethishmail.com
> wassup.doc(at)hushmail.com
>
> E-mail addresses on newsgroups are regularly harvested by spammers and
> others. Don't post it anywhere else in clear text, either.
>
> RL
>

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:40 PM
wassup.doc
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Forger ! ! !

Thank you, Shenan, for the great trouble you took to lead me right through
the maze. Although some of them *could* have fit my bio, I still do not think
I am such an idiot to post just "Help" as a post. Again, thank you very much.
David.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> wassup.doc wrote:
> > Most of my requests for have been simple. I will admit that - MVP's
> > will agree, I feel sure. When I came back to this discussion group,
> > I find someone has forged my name an address
> > "wassup.doc@hushmail.com" putting in as their message the single
> > word "Help". (See by searching for wassup.doc under this newsgroup
> > 10/26/2007.) Is there any way to report or better still, stop
> > this? MTiA, David.

>
> Unfortunately for you - you do not 'own' the 'wassup.doc' moniker in a
> public newsgroup in particular.
> I assume you are saying that the email is yours as well? That you may be
> able to take issue with.
>
> It looks like the wassup.doc@hushmail.com poster uses this newsreader: News
> Rover 12.3.0 (http://www.NewsRover.com)
> It looks like the wassup.doc@hushmail.com poster uses this news server:
> ThunderNews.com
>
> It looks like the wassup.doc poster (you?) uses the web interface at
> Microsoft.
> It looks like the wassup.doc poster (you?) posts from 10.40.244.x (likely
> some wireless assigned (or wired) DHCP private LAN.)
>
> Now maybe some of those are you, some aren't - I dunno. There's not much
> you can do - nor do i see anything to get ruffled about.
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
> How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
>
>

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 2004 - 2007 Web-S-Sense Pty. Ltd. Usenet and forums posts © their respective authors.
Ad Management by RedTyger