Blinky the Shark wrote:
> Sachin Garg wrote:
>
>> <tnom@mucks.net> wrote in message
>> news:1ur1849dl05i4bdasv8bnt5r9e9n0v626c@4ax.com...
>>>> Don't know. I have replaced 4.1 with 4.2. Give it a try.
>>> Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>>> iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
>>>
>>>
>>> http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/viru...AK_Generic.001
>> That is not a virus. Just an alert that the executable is 'compressed'. My
>> opinion is that trendmicro should not have panicked in this case.
>
> Great -- more FUD regarding a great piece of software (IrfanView).
>
>
Well, I use the Tucows or Downloads.com sources, and I trust them to
make sure the files are clean.
So far, that trust has not been sullied.
On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 18:14:28 -0400, me@mine.net wrote:
>On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:06:14 -0400, in rec.photo.digital tnom@mucks.net
>wrote:
>
>
>>No. What it is saying is that this particular file is possibly
>>infected because it has characteristics that are suspicious.
>>It has yet to be determined by Trend Micro if it actually is a
>>virus.
>
>Then bozo why did you EXPLICITLY state the following?
>
>>Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>>iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
> ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Because Trend Micro alerted me to a Virus and suggested to not
download the file.
On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:16:50 -0500, Ron Hunter <rphunter@charter.net>
wrote:
>tnom@mucks.net wrote:
>>> Don't know. I have replaced 4.1 with 4.2. Give it a try.
>>
>> Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>> iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
>>
>>
>> http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/viru...AK_Generic.001
>
>A virus from Tucows, or Downloads.com? I seriously doubt this. Note
>that I don't use their other mirrors.
Tucows and most of the other sites don't have version 4.2
> On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 18:14:28 -0400, me@mine.net wrote:
>
>>On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:06:14 -0400, in rec.photo.digital tnom@mucks.net
>>wrote:
>>
>>
>>>No. What it is saying is that this particular file is possibly
>>>infected because it has characteristics that are suspicious.
>>>It has yet to be determined by Trend Micro if it actually is a
>>>virus.
>>
>>Then bozo why did you EXPLICITLY state the following?
>>
>>>Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>>>iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
>> ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
> Because Trend Micro alerted me to a Virus and suggested to not
> download the file.
"Possibly infected" (your second explanation) is not the same as "contain
the virus" (your first bit of FUD).
tnom@mucks.net wrote:
> On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:16:50 -0500, Ron Hunter <rphunter@charter.net>
> wrote:
>
>> tnom@mucks.net wrote:
>>>> Don't know. I have replaced 4.1 with 4.2. Give it a try.
>>> Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>>> iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
>>>
>>>
>>> http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/viru...AK_Generic.001
>> A virus from Tucows, or Downloads.com? I seriously doubt this. Note
>> that I don't use their other mirrors.
>
> Tucows and most of the other sites don't have version 4.2
Funny, that's where the download I got came from....
On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:38:40 -0700, Blinky the Shark
<no.spam@box.invalid> wrote:
>tnom wrote:
>
>> On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 18:14:28 -0400, me@mine.net wrote:
>>
>>>On Fri, 18 Jul 2008 17:06:14 -0400, in rec.photo.digital tnom@mucks.net
>>>wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>>No. What it is saying is that this particular file is possibly
>>>>infected because it has characteristics that are suspicious.
>>>>It has yet to be determined by Trend Micro if it actually is a
>>>>virus.
>>>
>>>Then bozo why did you EXPLICITLY state the following?
>>>
>>>>Be careful. All links from the Irfanview site that direct you to
>>>>iview42_setup.exe, (version 4.2) contain this virus
>>> ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> Because Trend Micro alerted me to a Virus and suggested to not
>> download the file.
>
>"Possibly infected" (your second explanation) is not the same as "contain
>the virus" (your first bit of FUD).
Maybe because Trend Micro upon download of Irfanview 4.2 reports
it AS A VIRUS which was reported in my first post. If you then follow
the link and read what the virus information is then you get a more
detailed explanation, which was my second post. My posts on this
subject are accurate, but if that upsets you then go ahead and ignore
the info.