HTFC Forums

H.T.F.C.

How To Fix Computers





Go Back   HTFC Forums > Hardware Newsgroups > Digital Photo

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1  
Old 04-24-2007, 03:48 PM
chaser
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is this a good deal?

I too am noob. Based on what I've gleaned from other recent posts, I'm
having second thoughts about taking this ad seriously.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-
1GB_W0QQitemZ290107956270QQihZ019QQcategoryZ147173 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebay
photohosting

It looks like the total package, but if the package is made up of second
rate parts then it's not really a good deal.

My aim is to upgrade from a Canon S3 IS. I'm in no hurry. I just don't
want to spend $900 on something that will need upgrading a week after i buy
it.

Thanks for your help,
Joe Ponkey
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Fix your Windows Problems - FAST.
FREE Safe Scan Registry Check. Locate & Fix Errors in Minutes!
  #2  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:47 PM
Charles
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?


"chaser" <xnews@nospam.ponkey.com> wrote in message
news:Xns991C6DFC0E43Cjoeponkeycom@216.196.97.142.. .
>I too am noob. Based on what I've gleaned from other recent posts, I'm
> having second thoughts about taking this ad seriously.
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-


"Page not responding" is all I can get.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:15 AM
Warren Block
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

chaser <xnews@nospam.ponkey.com> wrote:
> I too am noob. Based on what I've gleaned from other recent posts, I'm
> having second thoughts about taking this ad seriously.
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-
> 1GB_W0QQitemZ290107956270QQihZ019QQcategoryZ147173 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebay
> photohosting


Note the description: Manufacturer Warranty: --

"Barclays Photo" has several other names. resellerratings.com shows
them rated as a perfect 0.00 out of 10.0.

--
Warren Block * Rapid City, South Dakota * USA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:16 AM
JP
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

"Charles" <charlesschuler@comcast.net> wrote in
news:1IWdnQcfOoWTFLPbnZ2dnUVZ_gidnZ2d@comcast.com:

>
> "chaser" <xnews@nospam.ponkey.com> wrote in message
> news:Xns991C6DFC0E43Cjoeponkeycom@216.196.97.142.. .
>>I too am noob. Based on what I've gleaned from other recent posts, I'm
>> having second thoughts about taking this ad seriously.
>>
>> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-

>
> "Page not responding" is all I can get.
>
>

I don't know if this is proper or not. I'm sure if not then someone will
let me know. This is cut and pasted from the ad.


Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi SLR Camera US $847.00

Supplied Accessories:
NB-2LH Battery Pack
Battery Charger
Power Cord for Battery Charger
USB Interface Cable
Video Cable
Neck Strap
Viewfinder & Body Caps
EOS Digital Solutions v.13.0 CD-ROM:
EOS Utility
ZoomBrowser EX
ImageBrowser
PhotoStitch
Digital Photo Professional
Instruction Manual CD-ROM (PDF version)
User Guides

Bonus Package:
Tamron 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Autofocus Lens
Tamron 75-300mm F/4-5.6 LD Macro Autofocus Lens
0.45x Wide Angle Converter Lens
1GB Compact Flash Memory Card
Full Size Tripod
Black Stylish Camera & Accessory Case
Lens and LCD Screen Cleaning Kit
Table-Top Tripod

an image of the package
http://barclaysphoto.com/mmBARCLAYSP...s/30200_BP.jpg

Thanks again,
JP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:29 AM
dwight
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

"Charles" <charlesschuler@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:1IWdnQcfOoWTFLPbnZ2dnUVZ_gidnZ2d@comcast.com. ..
>
> "chaser" <xnews@nospam.ponkey.com> wrote in message
> news:Xns991C6DFC0E43Cjoeponkeycom@216.196.97.142.. .
>>I too am noob. Based on what I've gleaned from other recent posts, I'm
>> having second thoughts about taking this ad seriously.
>>
>> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-

>
> "Page not responding" is all I can get.


That's because you cut off the link.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...ayphotohosting

As a "complete package", it would be VERY tempting at that price. You'd have
to take a careful look at the "extras" that this package includes, and
decide whether you want the Tamron lenses, tripod, etc.

Personally, I'm a component guy, as opposed to rack system.

Hey, Joe - I came to the Rebel XT from the S1 IS. If you DO step up, you're
going to enjoy the hell out of it. But be prepared to start lusting after
lenses...

dwight


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:38 AM
Jürgen Exner
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

dwight wrote:
> That's because you cut off the link.
> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...ayphotohosting
>
> As a "complete package", it would be VERY tempting at that price.


I strongly suggest to see http://www.resellerratings.com/store/BarclaysPhoto
and read the recent thread "Re: How the Brooklyn scumbags make money" in
RPD.SLR-system before buying from that company. You have been warned!

jue


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:29 AM
JP
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

"Jürgen Exner" <jurgenex@hotmail.com> wrote in
news:9qxXh.1272$KB1.328@trndny09:

> dwight wrote:
>> That's because you cut off the link.
>> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...-Camera-3Lens-
>> 1GB_W0QQitemZ290107956270QQihZ019QQcategoryZ147173 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
>> #ebayphotohosting
>>
>> As a "complete package", it would be VERY tempting at that price.

>
> I strongly suggest to see
> http://www.resellerratings.com/store/BarclaysPhoto and read the recent
> thread "Re: How the Brooklyn scumbags make money" in RPD.SLR-system
> before buying from that company. You have been warned!
>
> jue
>
>


Thank you for this resource. I am looking around with a sceptical eye

JP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:58 AM
dwight
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this a good deal?

"Jürgen Exner" <jurgenex@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:9qxXh.1272$KB1.328@trndny09...
> dwight wrote:
>> That's because you cut off the link.
>> http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...ayphotohosting
>>
>> As a "complete package", it would be VERY tempting at that price.

>
> I strongly suggest to see
> http://www.resellerratings.com/store/BarclaysPhoto and read the recent
> thread "Re: How the Brooklyn scumbags make money" in RPD.SLR-system before
> buying from that company. You have been warned!
>
> jue


Thanks. I did not mean to in any endorse the seller here.

dwight


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Fix your Windows Problems - FAST.
FREE Safe Scan Registry Check. Locate & Fix Errors in Minutes!

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 2004 - 2007 Web-S-Sense Pty. Ltd. Usenet and forums posts © their respective authors.
Ad Management by RedTyger